Lemon Chicken

The other day Imogen was reminiscing on how she loves lemon chicken, especially when the sauce soaks into the couscous.  Can a seven-year old legitimately reminisce?

I went to my old white folder that I have full of leaflets and cuttings and recipes of my mom’s and found her lemon chicken recipe. My parents had guests for  lunch every Sunday, and the menu only changed when the guest list swung round to the top again which meant we could have lemon chicken every Sunday for six weeks.  This is ok when it’s something yummy…

She had changed the recipe slightly to make it less fatty, but still not enough for my tastes so I ‘improved’ on an already improved recipe.  It actually worked out a lot better than I thought. My mom took a high fat recipe and made it normal and I made it low-fat.  I am sure the original inventors of the recipe would turn their noses up at mine, but times and tastes have changed and I thought it was pretty good!

Serves 4 to 6 people

Ingredients  for chicken

1 dessert spoon flour

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

2 teaspoons paprika

2 ½ – 3 lbs chicken breast no skin

Ingredients for sauce

1 tablespoon soy sauce

½ cup lemon juice

½ teaspoon each salt and pepper

¼ cup salad oil (Mom! What the heck is salad oil?)  I used olive oil

1 dessert spoon lemon rind finely grated

1 crushed clove garlic

Sauce

Combine all ingredients and mix well.  Refrigerate at least one hour before using.

Chicken

Set oven to 400f. Coat chicken pieces with flour, salt, pepper and paprika.  Arrange pieces in an ovenproof dish in a single layer. Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.  Turn chicken,  pour sauce over and bake for another 30 minutes or until chicken is tender and golden.

Can be served hot or cold, and is good with rice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

