Crock Pot Heaven

I promised Dawn over at The Moiderer that I would let her have some more Crock pot recipes as she has just discovered their existence.  Obviously she has been living up a tree or in a Tibetan Monastery or summut.   Here are a few that I have made, not necessarily the healthiest, but all of them tasty in their own way. 

The first is Pulled Pork.  There are many, many recipes with special spices etc.  My favorite?  Go get yourself a big lump of pork and a bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce.  Pour one over the other (in the pot, Dawn, in the pot.)  Turn the thing on and come back several hours later.  Voila!  Health warning: BBQ sauce has a lot of sugar in it. 

I recently tried Chicken Adobo – I like adobo recipes…if you don’t like the very strong taste of vinegar and soy sauce, this is not the recipe for you.   All of my kids like it though and it does freeze so it’s a favorite in this family.  It is also low-calorie. 

I sliced onion 

4 cloves garlic, crushed 

½ cup soy sauce 

½ cup vinegar 

1 cup chicken broth 

1-2 pounds chicken breasts 

Throw everything into the crock pot stick it on low for 6-8 hours 

Serve over rice. 

as delicious as it is ugly

 

Finally a recipe that I serve up every time someone comes over from the UK to visit us – I throw it into the crock pot and when we get back from the airport I can serve up a dish that looks like I trained with Gordon Ramsey…which why I also swear a lot in the kitchen. 

Chicken Las Vegas 

6 chicken breasts 

1 can mushroom soup (here in the South many recipes have mushroom soup in them, I think General Lee must have liked it.) 

½ pint sour cream 

1 jar of dried chipped beef (I actually prefer to put in a packet of bacon bits meant to go over salad.) 

Stir together the last three ingredients. 

Pour them over the chicken and cook on low for 5-6 hours. 

Serve with whatever the heck you like – I’ve served it with potatoes, rice and noodles – it was great with all of them.  The only healthy ingredient in this recipe is the chicken which is why I don’t serve it too often!

2 Comments

Filed under crockpot, Food for adults, food kids like, Freezer, recipes

2 responses to “Crock Pot Heaven

  1. I also love crockpot recipes, I really think that these dishes are life savers on a really busy day (like Manic MOnday). Our favorite’s pot roast, the kids simply love it. I’ve also tried one of those apple crockpot recipes for desserts and it’s so amazing. 🙂
    I’d give your chicken adobo a go, it sounds really simple I’m quite intrigued. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

  2. veryanniemary

    Let me know if you like it! You can also make Pork Adobo which is good too.

Leave a Reply

