The Mysterious Disappearance of Great Uncle Kristof or Goulash

The weather is glorious here…it makes me hot and sweaty and I feel vaguely tropical as I listen to the cicadas and watch the fireflies in the back yard.  Sheer bliss!   

So what did I make for supper?  Gazpacho, I hear you cry, or salad served with iced tea – and you would be completely wrong.   

I made goulash, warming, rich, perfect for winter weather goulash.  Apparently the word goulash comes from the Hungarian word for cattle stock man, but I am unclear as to why it’s called that.  I get that beef is used in the dish and cattle stockmen by definition have a lot of beef handy, but why not goulash stew?  After all we don’t say shepherd, we say shepherd’s pie…it makes me kind of uneasy that I have misunderstood what the original ingredient may actually have been.   I have visions of some Hungarian peasant woman smiling to herself making stew as her family look for great-uncle Kristof who has disappeared….  

If I haven’t put you off here is my recipe for Great Uncle Kristof stew…and he freezes too.  

Ingredients  

1 or 2 pounds of cubed beef – whatever you have lurking at the bottom of the freezer.  

1 onion, chopped  

1 green bell pepper chopped, traditionally this should be a red bell pepper , but I only had a green one, what can I say, I’m a rebel…  

Garlic – lots, because I like it.  

1 jar or can of tomato sauce, I used spaghetti sauce – Hungary/Italy same continent, that’s good enough for me.  

1 can diced tomatoes, undrained  

Some small new potatoes left over from the fragrant sticky chicken you made a few days ago…  

Paprika  

Salt and pepper  

Pasta of your choice, cooked.  

 1. In a large skillet, cook beef with onions until beef is browned and onion is tender, add garlic and paprika.  Drain well.  Add green pepper, tomato sauce, and un drained tomatoes.  Stir well and simmer, uncovered, for 10 minutes to blend flavors.  

2. To thaw and reheat: Thaw overnight in fridge.  Pour into skillet and add ¼ cup water if necessary.  Heat mixture until bubbly and serve.  

I deliberately did not specify how much paprika, but I will tell you that I used 2 teaspoons.  The reason why I am being unusually shy is that spices change when frozen and can get stronger in flavor, you have been warned.  

Uncle K never looked so good

 

1 Comment

Filed under crockpot, Food for adults, food kids like, Freezer, recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “The Mysterious Disappearance of Great Uncle Kristof or Goulash

  1. Oooh lovely – I will try that. Will you do me a favour and add a link to this post on my Linky. I know it’s not specifically a slow cooker recipe but Goulash is perfect for slow cookers. http://www.themoiderer.com/blog/2010/07/slow-cooker-revolution.html

Leave a Reply

