Fragrant Sticky Chicken

I have just got back from the UK where I have been for the last three weeks. Man, I had forgotten just how beautiful England can be in June.  It seems like every home and every town has flowers beyond belief – the flower pots were overflowing with color – the air was heady with the smell of the roses, 

 

hanging baskets tumbled over with petunias…I was also aware of the smell of wild garlic in the woodlands!!  The landscape was littered with fields lying fallow that had been overrun with red poppies, 

 

 or fields blue with linseed flowers and all of it breathtaking. 

look at the blue - look...

 

  There can be few places on earth to compete with England in June…if it’s not raining that is. 

 

Then there was the fact that we were in Dorset for a while, Dorset means Purbeck ice cream…oops…   This company was founded about 20 years ago by a dairy farmer and his family in a bid to – well – survive…the results are delicious and if you are looking to lose a pound or two – deadly!  My favorite was the honeycomb hash although the posh toffee and berries and clotted cream were wonderful too.  I am intrigued by the red chili flavor but they didn’t have any on offer at the beach…just as well as this is where I get to tell you that I put on 8lbs!  But I had fun doing it – apart from the ice cream I visited a lot of pubs and ate my body weight in bangers and mash, 

 

 oh and the Bailey’s – oh the Baileys…the only thing I didn’t have was Pimms and I am not sure why…weird.  England in June means Pimm’s cup.  The wonderful and modest Molly at  Orangette is teasing me with the promise of a Pimms cup recipe – when she succeeds I’m doomed, but at least I will go down smiling. 

So no exercise, lots of calories and three weeks to do it in…gosh I am glad to be back because,  well,  none of my clothes fit and I just can’t keep on pretending I am pregnant again… 

My mother in law is not someone I think of as a cook…don’t get me wrong ,she can whip up a fine meal, but she normally sticks with simple fair as she is busy living her life, so I was impressed with all the meals she produced.  She had cooked up a storm in the weeks before we came and frozen everything, shepherds pie, Chicken Normandy, tiramisu, blackberry and apple pie, leek and potato soup…the results are evident on my extra wobbly belly…I like the idea of cooking up low cal foods that I can freeze and pull out when needed and so I give you my version of Fragrant Sticky Chicken.  Easy, low-calorie, quick, liked by the whole family AND freezable – a recipe made in dieter’s heaven… 

Not pretty, but delicious

 

Ingredients: 

Serves 4 

1/3 cup soy sauce 

1/2 cup Chicken Broth 

1 tablespoon grated ginger root 

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts 

3 cloves minced garlic 

1/4 cup honey (I used 1/8 cup agave nectar instead – this cuts the calories in half). 

In medium bowl, combine soy sauce, broth, ginger root, and garlic.  Mix well, then add chicken breasts.  Cover and marinate for 1 to 2 hours in the fridge; then pack into zipper-lock bag, label, and freeze.  Reserve honey/agave nectar in pantry. 

Thaw chicken in marinade overnight in fridge.  Heat 12″ skillet over medium heat, then add chicken and marinade.  Cook 5 – 8 minutes on one side, then turn chicken, add honey/ nectar, cover, and cook an extra 8 to 10 minutes until chicken is thoroughly cooked and sauce is reduced. 

I served it with a green salad and brown rice cooked in broth and mixed with baby bellas that I had sautéed in cooking spray.  If you use honey the chicken is roughly 200 calories, if you use nectar drop that to 168.  The rice and salad are extra calories. 

Happy eating.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fragrant Sticky Chicken

  1. Pingback: The Mysterious Disappearance of Great Uncle Kristof or Goulash « Less Guts, More Glory

Leave a Reply

