Mom makes awesome Gralona

I do…really.  Which is weird, because I thought I was making granola – more fool me. 

I found an awesome recipe from Eat Me, Delicious and made it better, but ended up overcooking it because I was, ahem, blogging….oops. 

Did I throw it out?  Heck no!  I made another batch and mixed the two together, now it’s only partially inedible!  I recommend that you watch the clock when making this – trust me. 

see those chocolate sunflower seeds? Yum!

 

a little on the dark side...

 

This was fun to make and wonderful to eat – even slightly burned. 

So, here is the recipe for My Awesome Gralona! (Name courtesy of Imogen who might not be able to pronounce things, but she sure knows what she likes.) 

In a big bowl, mix the following together 

4 cups oats 

¾ cup wheat germ 

¼ cup flax-seed 

Then add 3 cups of your favorite dried fruits and nuts. This is what I used; 

¼ cup pecans, chopped 

¼ cup walnuts, chopped 

¼ cup shredded coconut 

¼ cup unsalted sunflower seeds 

¼ cup raisins 

¼ cup prunes, chopped (they were in the pantry, ok?  Anyway, what’s wrong with being regular?) 

¼ cup macadamia nuts, chopped 

¼ cup chocolate covered sunflower seeds (sue me) 

1/3 cup apricots, chopped 

1/3 cup tropical mix – pineapple/papaya/mango 

1/3 cup dried fruit mix – pineapple/cranberries/cherries/apples 

Add some yummy spices, I used; 

1T cinnamon
1/4 t ground cloves
1/2 t ground ginger
1/8 t nutmeg
1/8 t ground cardamom 

In a separate small bowl mix together the following; 

1/3 cup oil (you can use any vegetable oil, but I went all healthy and used flax-seed oil*) 

1/3 cup sweetener (you can use syrup, brown sugar, honey or molasses, again I went healthy and used agave**) 

2 T orange juice 

1T vanilla essence 

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry and mix well with a wooden spoon until everything is well coated. 

Pour onto a cookie sheet or large rectangular pan and bake in a 300 degree oven.  I left the first batch for 20 minutes, took it out and stirred it, then left it in for another 20.  The second batch, I went 15 and 15!!  Use your own judgment, but stir halfway. Remove and cool. Store in a tight lidded container. 

Eat for lunch and supper.  Feed to kids as after school snack, take orders from kids to serve gralona for breakfast in the morning….etc.etc.  

*Flax seed oil, a great source of ALA and Omega 3  essential fatty acid. 

**Agave nectar, low on the glycemic index (30) great for all sorts of stuff apparently, if you believe the label.. 

1 Comment

Filed under food kids like, recipes

One response to “Mom makes awesome Gralona

  1. Chandalyn Pulmano

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

