I can hardly move!

The wonderful Chandalyn (aka Mrs Dash) went rogue on us yesterday.   It blows my mind that she is a skilled enough trainer to baby my back and yet work me till I’m covered in sweat and now I can hardly move this morning – every part of my body is stiff and sore apart from my back!!  Sheesh. 

After our workout straight from the manuals of the US Marine corps boot camp we went for a cool down along the local Greenway.  I can’t jog , doctor’s orders,  so I walked three miles, Mrs Dash and the indomitable but diminutive M. jogged 4 miles…once upon a time – pre-back diagnosis, I would have run too, *sigh*. 

there they go..

 

speeding off....

 

..aaand they're gone

 

Supper last night was wonderful, but definitely not one for the kids which disappointed me…too spicy.   This is Mrs Dash’s recipe….it fits my criteria of super easy and quick though.   I can promise you unless I become certifiable, all the recipes I post will be healthy, with clean ingredients, but also super quick and easy! 

Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients

— Optional Add-Ons —

  

Preparation

In a large stockpot, heat 3 tablespoons of oil to medium-high heat. Add crushed garlic and chopped onions, and stir until onions just start to brown. Add the can of crushed tomatoes, cumin, cayenne pepper, chili powder, salt, pepper, and half of the lime juice. Turn up the heat until it bubbles, stirring constantly, then gradually stir in chicken stock. Turn down to low and simmer for 10 minutes. Add diced chicken. (Optionally add black beans or fresh corn kernels). 

When ready to serve, plate the soup, then top with a mound of the tortilla strips. Optionally add avocado, sour cream, cheese, fresh corn kernels. 

Squeeze fresh lime juice into each bowl at the table. 

there's chicken and black beans in there too

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food for adults, Health, recipes

Leave a Reply

