Bacon, birthdays and blog awards

It’s Andy’s birthday, which makes it difficult to eat healthily and keep up with family traditions.  Breakfast is bacon and eggs, I always buy the bacon with the lowest grams of fat, but that is still 4 grams.  Then I found beef bacon…unlike turkey bacon, it did actually look like it came from an animal. Not sure which bit of the animal though, but, the kids liked it, so who cares where it came from.  Oh wait – the kids have to eat better too.  Have you tried it?  Let me know your thoughts…Bacon is one of quite a few foods that make me want to be in England – our bacon can kick your bacon to the curb any day of the week.  (..and my Dad is bigger than your Dad.)

One of Andy’s gifts was a Panini maker, so guess what we had for lunch?!  Really good, but not exactly healthy.   I tried to make a tasty and healthy Panini and came up with this…fresh onion, fresh tomato, black olives, brie and the bread spread with pesto  –  it was good and healthy, but not low calorie!  The girl’s had cheddar and onion paninis and then tried mine and liked mine better , tough, make your own girls – Momma’s not sharing.  When it comes to my food, I’m like a dog with a bone,  get too close and I will bite you on the ankle.

Supper was awesome, quick to prepare with simple clean ingredients – Niamhy had three helpings!  Make it – you can thank me later.

Tomorrow is weigh in day…I don’t think I will have lost much weight, I am considering having Andy hold my boobs up when I get on the scales – then I will know how much I weigh and not my boobs…sounds like a sterling plan to me.  Who cares what boobs weigh, really?

I have found another website that is easy to read and interesting, meals and moves, Janetha has completed the’ I love body for life’ 12 week challenge and has had a lot of success.  I will check it out and report back.

But Janetha, Janetha, Janetha – youtgurt?  It looks like the sort of thing I would paint a room with, not eat.

I have been nominated for an award for my other blog, so please head over there and vote for me….http://veryanniemary.wordpress.com

Slow-Cooker Salsa Chicken

480 Minutes to Prepare and Cook

Ingredients

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup salsa
1 package reduced sodium taco seasoning
1 can reduced fat cream of mushroom soup (condensed)
1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream

Directions

Add chicken to slow cooker.
Sprinkle taco seasoning over chicken.
Pour salsa and soup over chicken.
Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.
Remove from heat and stir in sour cream.
Serve with rice.

Number of Servings: 6

Finally I leave you with a photo of Andy’s cake – yes, he is that old…

 

   
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

