OMG – is it only day 5?

Today was a good day and a bad day.

I worked out again today for the fourth time since getting the all clear to do so…Chandalyn has blown me away – I really wondered what on earth I could do at a boot camp, since running, jumping, jogging, sprinting, jumping jacks and practically everything else you think of associated with boot camps is forbidden.  She has had me sweating buckets and working out to the max.  without once compromising my back.  In fact I haven’t taken any anti. inflammatory medication at all so far….woo hoo.

She really increased my workout on the elliptical machine too, making me run intervals – but I think that had a lot to do with her catching me watching HGTV when she wasn’t looking….I was still moving, honest!

Food wise I was very nibbly today and I know that I ate more than I should have, although the Turkey Keema I made for supper was delicious and nutritious…too spicy for the girls though, Imogen clutched her throat and asked for water in a strangled whisper.  That’s my drama queen – she makes her mama proud!

PVR Research called me today and interviewed me for a taste testing job.  I didn’t get the job, because I don’t eat at fast food restaurants enough!!  In fact she told me that no one had ever answered just once a month before.  Made me feel quite proud of myself, but honestly you don’t all eat at these places more than that do you?!  Bad friends, bad, bad, naughty..but on the other hand PVR will pay you to be opinionated if you do.

The weird news is that I have been nominated for a blogging award for my other blog – very annie mary.  I needed a good laugh and that sure gave me one….go check it out and vote for me – just for the hell of it!

Turkey Keema

 Ingredients

2 tbsp veg. oil

One pack of minced turkey

1 cup of small pack of frozen mixed carrots and peas

1 med. Red onion chopped

1 inch ginger chopped

4 cloves of garlic chopped

1 med. Tomato chopped

2 tsp tomato paste

Salt to taste

½ tsp turmeric powder

½ tsp Cayenne pepper or to taste

¼ tsp black pepper

1 tbsp curry powder

A handful of fresh coriander chopped

 In a large sauce pan add, oil and heat. Add onions and stir until tranluscent. Add chopped ginger and garlic and stir for 2 mins. Add the minced meat and stir until light brown. Add the frozen vegetables and stir for another 3-4 mins. Add the salt, turmeric powder, cayenne pepper and black pepper and stir well. Now add the chopped tomatoes and tomato paste. Now add the curry powder. Stir well add 2 cups of water and let it come to a boil. Once it comes to a boil, cover and put it to simmer and let cook for another 15 mins. You can let it simmer longer if you want the gravy to be thicker. Add chopped coriander in the end and serve hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food for adults, recipes

Leave a Reply

