The Case of the Disappearing Woman

No, not me, it’s only been three days doggone it, I had to count, it seems much longer, I think I am a living example of Einstein’s  theory of relativity…      No, the melting woman is my friend S.   S is one of life’s lovelies and she is also a boot camp buddy…hence the fact she is slowly melting in front of our eyes, that and when Chandalyn, our personal trainer,  asks for 100%, S. gives 110% – I usually give about 80% and consider that good enough.  This is, of course, why she has curves and I have bulges…no I’m not jealous, I’m not, no, really.    She has kindly given me one of her family favorite recipes to try.  After all this is about making my whole family eat healthier – why should I suffer benefit alone when I have children and a husband to share my experiences with?  Today I made the Coconut Chicken Curry, Yum, yummy, yummy, yummy, yum, yum.  

My personal gas crisis is over, just when I thought I was going to have to issue some kind of air quality warning for our town….  

Jojo 'chopped' the cilantro. I think she was angry....

 

Spicy Chicken Coconut Curry  

Ingredients  

2 tbsp oil (Canola is best)  

2 med. Red onions chopped  

I inch piece ginger chopped  

4 cloves of garlic chopped  

2 tbsp tomato paste  

2 tbsp curry powder  

1 cinnamon stick  

1-3 dry red chilies (I used one ‘cos I’m a wimpette)  

Salt and black pepper powder  

2 cans (unsweetened) coconut milk (I used light coconut milk.  Can you see my halo shining?!)  

2 cups chicken stock  

4 tomatoes chopped  

6 boneless skinless breasts cut into inch strips  

One can chick peas  

Handful of coriander freshly chopped  

I lemon juiced  

Heat oil in a large heavy bottomed pan. Add the onions, ginger and garlic and stir until onions are soft about 10-15 mins. Add the tomato paste, curry powder cinnamon stick, and red chillies and stir well. Add the strips of chicken and stir.  Season with salt and pepper. Pour in the coconut milk and chicken stock. Let it boil and immediately bring it to a simmer and cook sauce until it has thickened about 20 mins. Add the tomatoes, half the lemon juice and the can of well drained chick peas, continue to simmer until the chicken is cooked through. Adjust the seasoning with lemon juice. Garnish with fresh chopped coriander leaves.

2 Comments

Filed under Food for adults, food kids like, recipes

2 responses to “The Case of the Disappearing Woman

  1. Sangeeta Yellumahanti

    Dear Dear Annie,
    You are one of the funniest most direct person I have met in my life and I am so thank ful for that. No BS just you!!! let me tell you you are doing a fantastic job considering all that you are going through and I am so proud of you.
    I also want to let you know the curry looks so fabulous. Exactly the color I would be looking forward. Also, I do see the halo shining!!!Good job Annie and keep it up. Love you.
    Sangeeta

    • veryanniemary

      Thank You Darling. Watch me turn into a shrinking violet! (Ok maybe a shrinking Sunflower…)

      It is really heartening to know that you and your delicious hubby are routing for me.

Leave a Reply

