Day Four, And I’m Turning To Drink

I have given up alcohol, because it has no nutritional value, it makes me feel like crap in the morning, the medication for my back does enough damage to my liver and I lose weight quicker without it.  I’m sober and I’m cranky! 

I need to find workable healthy alternatives so I will not feel like I am deprived…and so the children don’t run and hide when they see me coming.   No, wait, that happens anyway.

Sassy Water is now a firm favorite and 2 out of 3 children like it too, in fact I have to stand in line for some!  This is a Flat Belly Diet water, but why should only the flat bellied have fun?

2 liters water (about 8 1/2 cups)
1 teaspoon freshly grated ginger
1 medium cucumber,  peeled and thinly sliced
1 medium lemon thinly sliced
12 small spearmint leaves (I use ordinary mint – this is real life, and if my local supermarket doesn’t stock it, I’m not buying it!)

Combine ingredients and let it stand in fridge overnight. Drink all water the next day (if the kids let you).

I have absolutely no idea whether it is as wonderful as they claim for bellies and vitality, but it tastes great and this from someone who gags drinking plain water.  For the sake of completeness I researched the merits of Sassy water for you – your welcome.   Here is the science bit….‘A ‘flabby belly’ is often a combination of fat and retained fluid.  Fluid is retained usually due to dehydration, so if you’re better hydrated you can see an improvement in flabbiness and also a reduction in cellulite.  Drinking more water is a good move.  1 – 2 liters a day is the usual.  You should drink more if you exercise or live in a hot climate, of course.  Cucumber and lemon are natural diuretics and ginger and spearmint help relieve bloating’.   Don’t say I didn’t tell you.

I made the base for Chai tea too, my buddy S. tells me it’s called a decoction – sounds like something I would do to a stalker…

Again this is a debbyweighsin recipe – that girl has some good food going on.

A quart of chai “tea base” (to prepare six servings):

Simmer together for 15 minutes (after it reaches a simmer) on the stove top:

3 tablespoons ground/broken chai spices or 4 tablespoons whole spices –

WHOLE ALLSPICE, WHOLE CARDAMOM, WHOLE STAR ANISE, WHOLE CLOVES, ONE STICK CINNAMON, FRESH GRATED NUTMEG, FRESH GRATED PEPPER, AND ABOUT 1 1/2 INCH PIECE OF FRESH GINGER, SLICED THINLY.

1/4 cup agave syrup (they have this in the natural food section of my local supermarket – yay me! You could substitute honey – I think…)

4 1/2 cups water

Remove from heat. Add:

6 ‘black tea’ bags

Cover, brew 5 minutes, strain out spices. You can refrigerate this base up to a week.

To serve:  Mix equal amounts Chai tea base and unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and heat. (I had to Google vanilla almond breeze – Debby is far more sophisticated than me – turns out it’s a nut milk – I’m guessing unless you are allergic or weird, it’s ok to use milk instead of VAB)

This smelled divine while it was simmering and I loved the taste – after the first mouthful….I added more milk as I felt it was a little strong for my tastes-it was also far less sweet than the Chai teas that you get at coffeehouses, which once I thought about it made it a better drink.

I was sweeping the dang pollen off the deck this morning and I couldn’t help but smell a terrible whiff of something.  Seriously, it was horrible – I thought something had died.  It got a lot stronger as I got closer to the BBQ.  I had knocked the dial to ‘on’ and was slowly gassing myself again, only not with the stuff I produce naturally this time ….

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinks, recipes

Leave a Reply

