Eek!

I can’t believe I have not posted in nearly a week.  I haven’t been sulking, I have been up to my armpits in end of  school year ooze.  The weight is beginning to move again, no mean feat given the chips at the 5th grade picnic and the pizza and cake at Imogen’s birthday party. 

none of the photos were in focus - she moved too fast..

 I read the ingredients on the label of her cake – it was the largest label with the smallest writing and I kid you not – it had 67 ingredients in it!   That made it a lot easier to avoid eating…

anyone speak Latin?

darn right you need that napkin

I have some great recipes for you – the first is from Lori at Finding Radiance.  These are really good and definitely count as clean food.

yum!

Protein Pancakes/Waffles

 She tells me they are about 230 calories for the entire recipe without toppings.

Ingredients:
1/3 cup of cottage cheese (1%)
1/3 cup of rolled oats
1/3 cup of egg substitute, or 1 egg + one white
1/8th tsp of baking powder

dash of vanilla
dash of cinnamon

I do not use sweeteners, but most people probably would want to add some splenda or something to this. (I used a little agave syrup.)

Blend in a blender and cook like regular pancakes. You must blend this, otherwise the oats will be too chunky. The batter should be nice and smooth. Makes 3 big pancakes!
Lots of protein and fiber!

You can also put the batter in a waffle iron.

1 Comment

Filed under Food for adults, food kids like, recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “Eek!

  1. Yay – glad you liked the waffle/pancakes!

Leave a Reply

